Breaded, Baked Eggplant

So, this is a recipe I made up myself – I was inspired by the wiener schnitzel I used to make.

But… I hate frying. I hate the whole process of standing there until you have to turn what ever it is you’re making over. And the heat, and the splattering. Plus, who has time to do this when you have kids? I’d rather play with them than stand there frying something.

So here’s my solution, both to the schnitzel and the frying. Use eggplant instead of veal, and bake it – don’t fry it. Also, instead of an egg use a flax and water mix.

Ingredients:

1 large eggplant (or a few smaller ones), cut into circle slices about 3/4-inch thick

a bowl with :2 tbs of ground flax seeds mixed with 3/4 cup of water (you’re going to need to add more water as you go, when you find the bowl is getting too thick)

a plate with: 1/2 cup of flour (I like to use spelt), 1/2 tbs of paprika, 1 tsp of garlic powder, 1/2 tsp of salt (mix that all up on a plate)

another plate with: Good quality bread crumbs (I like to use whole grain from the bakery near my house) (Note about bread crumbs: look at the ingredients carefully! I really don’t like the grocery store-type – it’s full of chemicals and dairy, who would have thought??)

Directions: Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Grease a glass pyrex dish (you’ll probably need 2) with enough olive oil (or a mix of olive and safflower oil) to cover the bottom generously. Dip each eggplant slice 1st into the flour mixture, then into the flax-water and lastly into the breadcrumbs. Place into the greased pyrex and position on the lowest rack in the oven. Once all are done, bake for 20 mins in the preheated oven, flip and bake again for another 15-20 mins. They should come out nice and crispy.

 

eggplants before baking
eggplants “frying” in the oven
dinner, with bruchetta and beans on the side. yum!
Leave a Reply

