Black Beans on Tortilla and fried plantains

Yesterday I made 2 cups of black beans (quick soak method – boiled them in 3x their amount in water, so 9 cups of water for 2 cups of beans for 2 minutes then let them soak for 1 hour  – at which point you rinse them and add 9 cups of water again and simmer them for about 2 hours, or until tender. I found I needed to up the heat a bit so they would cook). I have leftover, so I thought I’d serve them up in tortillas tonight, with some pico de gallo and guacamole (I actually purchased these today at a local mexican store! Just to make it easy on myself tonight 🙂 I went to the store thinking I would buy a tortilla press, but they didn’t have the one I was looking for).

For an accompaniment, I’ll be making these fried “honey and sea salt plantains” (but will be using my newly purchased Himalayan Salt – they look super yum.

For dessert, I made a raw coconut-topped brownie, I have so much coconut meat now that I’m drinking 1 young Thai coconut every morning! – About that – I feel totally energized after my daily coconut water, so ready to start my day!

Leave a Reply

