Whole Wheat Bread

I’ve been making bread for a while now – Every Friday night I make a Challah (Shabbat), and when I started eating whole foods, tried to find a good Whole Wheat Bread. It was harder to do than I thought! All the breads I tried turned out hard like rocks.

I’ve since found a couple of good ones – and here’s the one that I made on Monday, and am making again! My daughter even likes it for sandwiches in her lunch, so I think I’ve found the winner. Once I make it more times, I might even try adding some other grains – but for now, I’ll make it as the recipe states.

I just half the original recipe and dump everything into my bread machine – and voila! Perfect bread that’s risen really nicely.

I’m just going to copy the recipe, in case the link page gets deleted or something – I really want to keep this one!

1 tablespoon dry active yeast
1 3/8 cups hot water
1/4 cup olive oil, any oil is fine
1/4 cup honey
1 tablespoon molasses
3 3/4 cups of 100% whole grain wheat flour
1/2 tablespoon salt, Sea Salt is good

Leave a Reply

