Chocolate Cake

So, I’ve really been trying to find good dessert recipes that are not only vegan but healthy, too. My father has pretty much given up hope that I would ever come up with such a combination, and some of my previous attempts were… flops.

Trying to use no white flour or sugar and no milk or eggs posed a challenge. And although I love Christina Pierello and all she stands for, I have to say that the more of her desserts I tried, the more hopeless I became. Until I found Organic Palm Sugar at the store. Looking into it on-line, although it has the same amount of calories as regular sugar, it still seems to be a healthy alternative: Check out Natural News’s article, and it sounds like a pretty good choice to me!

So, when I came across this recipe for”The BEST Chocolate Cake ever… that happens to be vegan. I kid you not.” I was excited to try it with this new sugar, because it’s a 1:1 ratio for regular white sugar (I love that!).

So – after making this cake and serving it to a skeptical crowd (my family have almost given up hope), the review was in, and it was great. Such a good cake, one that I’ll be using many many more times, I’m sure. I, like other reviewers, used Coconut Oil istead of Margerine for the glaze, and it came out so beautiful and shiny. I also used 3/4 white flour, 1/4 oat flour and 1/4 whole wheat flour this time, but in the future would like to try using less and less white flour and testing the results.

Simply perfect.

Leave a Reply

