Chocolate Chips

Ready to make my own chocolate chips! I was sad to learn that there was no place to buy Sunspire’s Grain-Sweetened Chocolate Chips that I could see  – nowhere near me, and even on-line I was having issues. So, I came across Heavenly Homemakers blog, where they make their very own chocolate chips (also checked out Motherhood on a Dime’s recipe, both are about the same)!  So my daughter and I tried them out (using Brown Rice syrup as the sweetener). Needless to say, the real test for me was letting her lick the spoon, and when I asked what she thought, she said “yummy!” and wanted more :).

The chocolate chips themselves, I put in the freezer for about 4 hours… and they’re still not 100% hard. I’m thinking it may be because I didn’t use coconut oil, but earth balance margarine spread instead. Also, they’re not as sweet as I’m used to. I think next time I’d like to try using the coconut oil and Agave Syrup (which I hear is sweeter)  instead of brown rice syrup. What a learning curve!

Leave a Reply

