Mellow Tangelo

Life as a vegan newbie, and other tidbits.

Beans & Butternut Squash Fries

on October 18, 2013

Last night I wanted to see if I could find a new bean recipe, I always make Refried Beans without the Refry from Allrecipes and am getting a little bored (although it’s really the perfect recipe). So, anyways, I went on a search and found Culicurious’s Slow Cooker Beans and decided to give it a try. Actually, it’s very similar to the refry recipe, just with different beans and spices, and you fry the onion first. But who am I kidding? I really tried it because she’s from New Orleans and I love that place, it was my husband and my all-time favorite vacation. And also love her pictures. I should put pictures on this blog, I know… I’m just a bit unorganized.

So, made those, they turned out pretty good. Nothing wrong with the recipe, but I probably should of made something totally different from the refried beans – they were kind of similar. I then went on a hunt for a good butternut squash fry recipe and found Can You Stay For Dinner’s Baked Butternut Squash Fries. The trick really is putting the slices on a rack instead of directly on the cookie pan. THey came out way crispier than the ones I’ve tried before, so I was pretty happy about that. The only thing is – I recommend using 2 butternut squashes… they were yummy, and my family could have had more :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

